Rob Carney

Rob Carney is the author of seven books of poems, including The Book of Sharks (Black Lawrence Press, 2018), which won the 15 BYTES Book Award for Poetry in 2019. Two more books are forthcoming in 2021: Call and Response (Black Lawrence Press), a collection of new poems, and Accidental Gardens (Stormbird Press), a collection of 42 flash essays about the environment, politics, and poetics. Originally from the Pacific Northwest, Carney earned a PhD in 1997 from the University of Louisiana-Lafayette then came to Utah to work at Utah Valley University (still called UVSC back in those days). In 2014 he received the Robinson Jeffers/Tor House Foundation Award for Poetry. He lives in Salt Lake City.



Accidental Gardens (Parndana, South Australia: Stormbird Press, 2021).

Call and Response (New York: Black Lawrence Press, 2021).

The Last Tiger Is Somewhere, co-authored with Scott Poole (Portland, OR: Unsolicited Press, 2020).

Facts and Figures (Phoenix: Hoot ’n’ Waddle, 2020)

The Book of Sharks (New York: Black Lawrence Press, 2018)

88 Maps (Sandpoint, ID: Lost Horse Press, 2015).

Story Problems (Shepherdstown, WV: Somondoco Press, 2011).

Weather Report (Shepherdstown, WV: Somondoco Press, 2006).

Boasts, Toasts, and Ghosts (Grand Junction, CO: Pinyon Press, 2003).


Black Lawrence Press

The Book of Sharks

MTPR "The Book of Sharks" 

Facts and Figures

The Last Tiger is Somewhere

Willow Springs Magazine



Rob Carney Facebook Page






Additional Info

  • Region: Wasatch Front
  • Genre: Poetry